The AIMS Power PICOGLF line is the brand's low-frequency pure sine inverter charger with a built-in transfer switch, and the 12V versions come in fourteen part numbers between 600W and 4000W. The letters at the end of the part number (V, VR, AL, BY, VS) are the whole story, so this guide decodes them, lays out the charger amps and outlets per model, and says which one suits a van, a trailer or a 50A coach.
What every PICOGLF has in common
- Low-frequency transformer design. Heavier than a high-frequency inverter, but rated for 3x surge for 20 seconds, so a 2000W unit will start a compressor or a pump that needs 6000W for a moment.
- Pure sine output at 120V AC, safe for electronics, CPAPs and variable-speed motors.
- Multi-stage battery charger with selectable profiles for AGM, GEL, lithium and flooded batteries plus a user-defined setting.
- Automatic transfer switch. Shore or generator power passes through to the outlets while it is present; when it drops, the unit switches to the inverter in about 10 milliseconds (AIMS's figure). DIP switches choose AC priority or battery priority.
- Conformal-coated circuit boards for dust and moisture in mobile use.
- Remote options: the LCD remote panel (REMOTELF), the Bluetooth monitoring dongle (BT-AIMS-PRO) and the ignition trigger relay (REMLFLCDIGN); the VR, 2500W AL and 4000W models also take the LED on/off remote (REMOTELFLED). The battery temperature sensor (PICGLFBATS) adds temperature-compensated charging.
- 3-year AIMS Power warranty.
V vs VR: the ETL listing
A part number ending in V (for example PICOGLF20W12V120V) is the ETL-listed version, independently tested to UL 458, the standard for power converters and inverters in vehicles and boats. A part number ending in VR (PICOGLF20W12V120VR) is the same wattage, same charger and same transfer switch without the third-party listing. The listing matters if an installer, an insurer, a commercial fleet or an RV manufacturer requires a listed unit; for a private build it comes down to whether you want the certificate. One exception: the 4000W unit (PICOGLF40W12V120V) ends in V, but AIMS's spec table lists no third-party certification for it while its description says ETL certified, so treat its listing as unconfirmed.
There is one more difference at the small end. The 1000W and 1500W VR units have two GFCI outlets and no hardwire terminal block; the V units at those sizes have two outlets plus a hardwire block. From 2000W up, both V and VR have outlets plus a hardwire block, and the 4000W units are hardwire only.
Model by model
| Model | Continuous / surge | Charger | AC connection | ETL listed | Lithium wake-up |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 600W ETL (PICOGLF6W12V120VETL) | 600W / 1800W | 5A | Not stated on the AIMS page | Yes | Not stated |
| 1000W V | 1000W / 3000W | 35A | 2 outlets + hardwire | Yes | Yes |
| 1000W VR | 1000W / 3000W | 35A | 2 GFCI outlets | No | Yes |
| 1500W V | 1500W / 4500W | 50A | 2 outlets + hardwire | Yes | Yes |
| 1500W VR | 1500W / 4500W | 50A | 2 GFCI outlets | No | Yes |
| 2000W V | 2000W / 6000W | 70A | 2 outlets + hardwire | Yes | Yes |
| 2000W VR | 2000W / 6000W | 70A | 2 outlets + hardwire | No | Yes |
| 2500W AL | 2500W / 7500W | 85A | 2 outlets + hardwire | No | Conflicting (see note) |
| 3000W V | 3000W / 9000W | 100A | 2 outlets + hardwire | Yes | Yes |
| 3000W VR | 3000W / 9000W | 100A | 2 outlets + hardwire | No | Yes |
| 3000W 30A/50A bypass (BY) | 3000W / 9000W | 100A | 2 outlets + hardwire, 120V or 240V input, 50A transfer | Yes | Yes |
| 4000W | 4000W / 12000W | 115A | Hardwire only | Conflicting (see note) | Yes |
| 4000W split-phase, 120V charge input (VS) | 4000W / 12000W | 70A | Hardwire only, 120/240V output | No | Yes |
| 4000W split-phase, 240V charge input (VS) | 4000W / 12000W | 115A | Hardwire only, 120/240V output | No | Yes |
All figures are from AIMS's spec tables for each part number. "Lithium wake-up" is the charger's ability to bring back a lithium battery whose BMS has disconnected after over-discharge; the 600W page does not list the feature either way. Two cells are marked conflicting because AIMS's own page contradicts itself: the 2500W AL spec table says no battery wake-up while its description says the feature is included, and the 4000W spec table says no third-party certification while its description says ETL certified. Confirm either point with AIMS before you rely on it.
The oddballs: AL, BY and VS
2500W AL
AIMS describes the 2500W AL as the unit "without all of the bells and whistles": same low-frequency design, 85A charger and transfer switch, but no ETL listing, and AIMS's spec table lists no lithium wake-up for it even though the description text says it includes one. If your bank has its own wake-up function (the AIMS LiFePO4 batteries do) and you do not need the listing, it fills the gap between 2000W and 3000W.
3000W 30A/50A bypass (BY)
The standard V and VR units take a 120V AC input. The 3000W BY takes 120V at 30A or 240V at 50A, with a 50A transfer switch, and is ETL listed. That makes it the PICOGLF for a coach with 50A service or a larger generator. AIMS quotes 92% peak conversion efficiency for this model.
4000W split-phase (VS)
The two VS units put out 120/240V split-phase, so they can run a 240V load such as a well pump or a larger air conditioner from a 12V bank. They differ in the charge input: one charges from 120V (70A charger), the other from 240V (115A charger). Both are hardwire only. At 12V a 4000W inverter draws well over 300A from the batteries, so this is a big-bank, short-cable install.
Which PICOGLF for which RV
- Teardrop or small trailer, one battery: 600W ETL or 1000W V/VR. The 1000W VR's two GFCI outlets suit a plug-in install with no hardwiring.
- Van or Class B with a 200Ah LiFePO4 bank: 2000W V or VR. The 70A charger refills the bank on a short shore stop and 6000W surge starts a residential fridge.
- Travel trailer or fifth wheel, 30A cord: 2000W or 3000W V/VR, depending on whether the microwave and coffee maker run together. See what size AIMS inverter your RV needs.
- 50A coach or a rig with a 240V load: 3000W BY, or a 4000W VS if you truly need 240V output.
AIMS bundles the PICOGLF into two of its kits: the Frontier Mantis pairs a 2000W inverter charger with a 190W panel for an existing bank, and the Expedition Bull pairs the 3000W BY with 760W of solar and AGM storage. Our Expedition vs Frontier kits guide compares them.
FAQ
Is the VR a worse inverter than the V?
Same wattage, surge, charger and transfer switch. The V carries the ETL listing to UL 458 and, at 1000W and 1500W, a hardwire block instead of GFCI outlets. Choose V if a listing is required or you want to hardwire; VR if not.
Can I plug my 30A RV cord into a PICOGLF?
The V and VR units have a 120V AC input on the terminal block, so the shore cord feeds the inverter charger through the RV's AC panel wiring rather than plugging in directly. Check the manual for your model's maximum AC input current before you plan the pass-through loads; AIMS does not list it on the product pages we have.
Does the charger work with AIMS lithium batteries?
Yes. Set the lithium profile. The 104Ah, 135Ah and 300Ah AIMS LiFePO4 batteries also have their own wake-up function. See choosing an AIMS LiFePO4 battery.
Where do they ship from?
Every PICOGLF here is genuine AIMS Power, carries the 3-year AIMS Power warranty and ships from our warehouse in Upland, California. Browse the AIMS Power range or ask us before you order.
